169:12 - INVALID +2

From: Glenn Overby II (guardcaptain_at_earthlink.net)
Date: Sun Sep 30 2001 - 23:42:16 PDT

Aron Wall writes:

>My horse rolls a nine.  I move it from Start to space six, but can
>proceed no more because of the blockade.  Yet, I have three points of
>momentum left, and thus cannot simply land on space 6, so the situation
>entails some sort of Conflict Resolution.  Since I have more Charisma
>points than the Klein bottle, I simply order Factitious to step to the
>side and let me through.  Factitious's piece is now to the side of space
>6 and the blockade is gone (Factitious will have to spend an extra
>movement point to re-enter space 6).  But politeness only works as many
>times as the difference in Charisma values, so any future Conflicts with
>Factitious in which I am the acting player must be resolved with either
>physical or magical combat.  I now move two spaces forward and am
>blocked again by Tripper.  But this time I must fight since my Charisma
>is two points less.  I have 5 strength and my opponent has 3, so I will
>attack physically.  Here is how physical combat works.  It's all about
>the seconds number in which the rule of the move officially takes place
>(GMT).  If the one's place digit is less than or equal to the attacker's
>strength, the attacker wins; if it is not but is less than or equal to
>the sum of their strengths, the defender wins.  Otherwise it is a draw
>and I will end up simply landing on space 8.  The winner stays put if
>defending or continues if attacking, and the penalty for the loser is
>determined by the tens digit of the official seconds--
>0-Killed-physical form lost and piece sent to void.
>1-Left in mud-pushed beside the space and transfer one charisma point to
>the victor.
>2-Wounded-pushed beside the space and lose one Strength (if any stat is
>negative one is killed).
>3-Kicked into next week-hurled forward to all spaces whose numerical
>component is 7 greater than the conflict space and miss next turn.
>4-Pushed one space farther than victor's final destination.
>5-Sent back to start.
>Whatever effects happen due to the combat take place at the beginning of
>the next player's move.  During *this* move my piece does not land on
>any space.  I hope that I will get kicked forward to space 15, from
>which I will be able to choose which pathway I take.  Otherwise, one
>goes into a superposition of states and takes BOTH pathways.
>Rule Date: 2001-10-01 05:27:53 GMT

The Judgement:

Validity:  A nine is not possible with 169:11 remaining VALID.  Thus, 169:12 is
INVALID.  (More's the pity.  I want to use some of this.)

Style:  Windy (-0.5) and complex (-0.5), but with more clever blockade-running
(+0.5), excellent ideas about Charisma (+1) and Strength (+1), and an extra +0.5
because politeness as a game mechanic tickles me.  This is a +2.

Reflections:  Aron would have kicked Tripper into next week.

Glenn E. Overby II "da judge"
Clinton Twp, MI


"Today, our nation saw evil, the very worst of human nature,
and we responded with the best of America...None of us will
ever forget this day, yet we go forward to defend freedom
and all that is good and just in our world."
   -- President George W. Bush
      11th September 2001

Rule Date: 2001-10-01 06:43:38 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.5 : Thu Nov 24 2011 - 10:48 PST